Quarter-life crisis: the disaster your parents never warned you about

One minute I’m enjoying the slow pace of my twenties, the next I’m downing a glass of wine and stressing over where exactly my life is going. Ah yes, the unexpected quarter life crisis has well and truly begun. A phase all twenty-somethings go through, we’re left pretty much in despair over what to do with – well, our entire lives.This is probably the wrong time to have a meltdown; so, naturally, you have one. Whether it’s curling up into a ball, listening to Morrissey or haphazardly emailing just about anybody in your chosen field, the stress gets to all of us.

The issue probably stems from the pressure of a society where everybody is so keen to compete with each other. Everyone seems to be doing better than you, from the girl in
your lecture with better grades to your old classmate getting engaged. Realistically, most people only share the information that portrays them in the best light, like those cheesy ‘best bits’ videos on Big Brother. Dreadful, right? Maybe not, considering we all do it. My Facebook probably makes me look cool and grown-up, when in fact, I’m 20 and still terrified of those ‘Don’t Hug Me, I’m Scared’ videos.

16075_949349861747761_7147379755484811281_n

Childhood me would be disappointed.

Despite knowing that people basically lie and present a more polished version of themselves, I can’t help having that internal crisis at 4am whenever someone my age boats about doing something cool on Twitter. Films and television programmes have taught me that drinking wine is the thing to do in moments like this, but I don’t even really like wine. I’d rather sit and ponder my anxieties over a juice box, thank you very much.

Twenty seemed so old when I was younger. I always thought I’d be settled down with a nice boyfriend, with a nice job, in a nice city. Instead, me and my friends still sings Spongebob Squarepants’ songs at the top of our lungs after discussing how we still have no clue as to what we’re actually doing. The reality is that none of us really have any realistic idea of what we want to do, or if we’re going in the right direction. Possibly because we make a lot of our educational decisions at a young age, meaning school kids are meant to know exactly what they want in life. Turns out, what you want in your twenties is very different from what you want when you’re in school, picking your GCSE options.

10412020_10155672367565405_6316261420338729329_n

Happy 20th birthday, time for the crisis.

Despite this, I still feel like 14 year old who loves cheesy pop-punk, pizza and overusing GIFs. Maybe that’s part of the problem: expecting too much way too soon. I always thought that I’d be sipping tea and being a tad more classy by the time I hit my twenties. Although I still do question what I’m doing and if it compares to others, I’m taking one step at a time and enjoying going with the flow.

Maybe the secret to enjoying a crisis free life is to just avoid trusting social media and accepting the pace your life is going.

Or, of course, continue to have bouts of confidence whilst simultaneously juggling your fear of real life. Either one works.

Leave a Reply

